Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was checkin under my old bronco and my rear driveshaft yoke had a fair amount of play in it connecting to the rear differential. i dont hear or feel anything going down the road. a fellow told me it was a bearing in there that could be causing this. said it could slice up my gears...how much would it cost to have this replaced since i have no tools or experience to take the rear end apart...ill call around tomorrow but no place is open right now and i just got paid. or should i just swap in a rebuilt 9". i dont plan on keeping the truck very long though.

·
Registered
2,896 Posts
When you say there is play in it do you mean you can rotate it or can you grab the yoke and move it around?

·
Banned
11,466 Posts
8.8" pinion nuts are notorious for backing off. You can tighten it free in a few minutes, but you'll have to do it again in a few thousand miles. You can remove it, clean the threads, apply red threadlocker, & tighten it for a few cents & a few minutes of work, but you might still have bearing problems.

The correct fix is to remove the nut, yoke, pinion seal, outer pinion bearing, & crush sleeve. Install a new sleeve & seal, apply red threadlocker, & use a new nut to torque it & reset the preload in an hour or so for ~$20, and you should never have any more trouble from it.

·
Registered
825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
by play i mean you can grab it and move it around some. how much torque am i losing cause of this bad boy ive been pinpointing hundreds of other problems thinking its causing my lack of power but i hope this is the final culprit. a shop quoted me 250-300 to replace it, but you say i can tighten it down myself? are there any manuals or online articles you know off the top of your head? ill try looking around here.

·
Registered
199 Posts
brock said: