Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well Im a newbie when it comes to FSB's i just upgraded from a bronco 2 but anyways my 1994 Bronco 351W with an e40d every once in a while will shift really hard and at a higher rpm than usual most of the time 1st-2nd, but my speedo doesn't behave erratically, my odometer works just fine, u-joints are new, transmission fluid is at the correct level and the transmission was fully rebuilt at a local shop by a guy who specializes in e4od's about 40k miles ago, so from my understanding this leaves a sensor to blame? could it be the the speed sensor in the rear differential causing this weird behavior? or something else? all help is greatly appreciated :banghead

·
Registered
11,116 Posts
If your speedo is working fine, and doesn't seem erratic, it's probably not a VSS problem.

I'd pull codes, and see if you get a code for your MLPS... and consider replacing it anyway.

I've seen people rebuild E4ODs because a transmission shop diagnosed a failing transmission only to find out later that the brand new one did the exact same thing as the old one, and the MLPS was bad.

·
Registered
11,116 Posts
The best place to get the MLPS is at the dealership, because they come with the full kit if your E4OD uses the old style MLPS connector, and all the instructions to convert it.

Plus, with the goofy ways a MLPS can screw up the transmission, I'd only buy a Motorcraft one.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks again but i think i fixed it