Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
790 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So im still new to some parts for these trucks, and i wanted to know if theres a whole kit i can put to change it to a manual transfer case?
because i Barely do any off roading but if i do i dont want to 100% trust electrical motor that might burn up or short out, maybe thats why the previous owner of this bronco took it out? not sure

thanks ! :)

·
ate lug
88 + 96 broncos, 96 F250
8,995 Posts
Theres no kit to convert the elec tcase to manual. Youll have to swap over all the parts from a truck that has a manual tcase, including the tcase itself.

·
Registered
790 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Theres no kit to convert the elec tcase to manual. Youll have to swap over all the parts from a truck that has a manual tcase, including the tcase itself.
oh wow D: ok thank you

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
Yup, no kit, but it's a pretty easy swap. I did it earlier this year.

You'll need a manual transfer case with the Bronco output shaft/cover (it's different than the truck version). You'll also need the shifter and brackets for your transmission.

Probably a good idea to rebuild the T-case while it's out if it's got some miles on it.

The hole in the floor for the shifter is already there, you just need to remove the cover plate, and you'll need the bezel and shift boot.

·
Addicted to Junk
85 Bronco, 309ci I6 w/4bbl, np435, 4" lift, 37" Irok NDs, 4.56 w/ Detroit Locker and tru trac
16,033 Posts
The donor truck(s) need to be '87+. 86 and back had the TC shifter come through the tunnel cover, not the side of the tunnel like 87+.