Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 20 of 145 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title says, I've officially started my SAS and general truck build! :chili:

I really haven't done anything since I've purchase it because of building a garage and not wanting to do it half way. Finally, this past Sunday I spent about 5 hours taking all the front suspension apart (pics below) so there's no turning back now and this week I'll take the back apart for the shackle under. This weekend (Memorial day weekend) I'll start putting the front back together with some help from a couple other members. Not what you'd call a budget build, but not too crazy either. I've been buying parts for the last 12 months or so to spread the costs out, and now with my wife 8.5 months pregnant, I figure I better sh!t or get off the pot. My plans and parts list are shown below...

I'll continue to update this post with things I've forgotten, but most of the pics and status will be down in the posts somewhere. I'll have a spreadsheet that lists all of these parts as well as part numbers, prices, vendors, and I'll post that up as a PDF as I continue to get the little things done and updated.

Front Axle / Suspension:
- '78 High Pinion Dana 44
- Totally rebuilt end to end (for all the trouble, it seems like it should be more than one line item)
- 4.56 gear set with ARB carrier
- Stock shafts (for now)
- Alloy USA needle bearing u-joints (the JBG verbage fooled me)
- T-bird calipers w/ BC Bronco banjo bolts
- Cage radius arms for the "C" frame trucks
- Cage progressive 6.5" coils
- Heavy Duty JBG early Bronco spring towers will be extended to give ~12" of height above the bottom of the frame to give about 6" of total lift
- Custom trac-bar mount a-la Shadofax/Crazed from 2"x3" angle & 2"x4" rect. stock
- Custom milled spacer on the axle end.
- Custom Trans-mount from 3x4 angle and 2x4 rect. stock (hoping to continue it into a nice skid plate)