Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Former owner of Shadofax
17,025 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First the FYI, could not have been too long ago, but for those using Max Life, it's now labeled semi-synthetic. I checked Valvoline's site and sure enough, they do not appear to sell standard valvoline max life. Or maybe this is some stupid marketing stuff where it's the same old Max Life, but they get to call it semi-sythetic due to the addititives within??? Don't know, just wanted to make folks using this aware. I hate when a manuf. goes and changes something on me. My motor now has 133k and does not burn any oil. So it worries me to see changes to something I've been putting in for probably 6 years now (was standard valvoline I used before the max life came out).

Anyway, the question is this: I don't put many miles on the truck these days and so this whole 3mo/3k is not really working for me. I normally only put about 1500 miles on in 3 months. So it seems to me I should fall back to hours used, more or less. By this I don't intend to track hours, but it seems to me that I should ignore the 3mo "rule" and let it go closer to 4 mos. which might have me more along the lines of 2k maybe a bit more. Any thoughts, I hate wasting oil, it sure looks in good shape after only 3 mo/1500miles. Seems to me this would be a reasonable thing to do.

·
Registered
9,130 Posts
I've always gone by this little rule of my own design: "If you don't hit three thousand in three months, wait for 2,000. If you don't hit 2k in four months, change it." If I'm at 2500 at three months, I'll just change it. Hell, it only costs $30 to do it...