Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, i have a 1993 Bronco and its time to do something with engine (it has 260k miles) Could you guys tell me which options i have? i want to rebuilt an engine and add some additional horse powers to it if it possible, im pretty new to this kind of job, but its really interesting for me. So what can i do? change heads \ camshaft or what usually ppl do in that case? Thank you !

Automotive side marker light Wheel Automotive parking light Tire Vehicle

·
Registered
945 Posts
What's your budget? You're looking at an easy $6000 for heads, cam, and machine work from a high end place. I'm going with a higher end shop and it's going to cost 8500 plus 400 for the spare block.

As far as tuning goes, I would recommend spending the money and getting a Holley terminator x. I'm about to. That way it can be tuned by more modern people. I ran into the issue of a possible crappy tune on my truck and only one person in the area could even do it.

·
Registered
1986 Bronco Eddie Bauer 5.0 bone stock
790 Posts
Be careful, you can go down a deep and expensive rabbit hole really quick. First you need to be honest with what you plan on doing with your bronco, is it a grocery getter daily driver? Does it ever go off roading (mud, rocks, dunes if so which ones because they can all have different needs). Or do you just do like most of us and drive it some of the time around town. Do you do a lot of slow city driving? Just looking for something with a little more pep or something that is going to smoke the wheels whenever you get down on it? How able are you to do any of this yourself...you said pretty new to this so i am going to assume not very able, unless you have a friend with a very well equipped shop.