Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
'81 351w, 3+Od
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Evening.
I've been hunting for a 80-81 Bronco for a few years, and finally found this one in 2020.

It spent 1981 to ?? in Ridgecrest, CA before before moving to San Bernardino in 2010.

It has (had) a weird custom rack. The nice couple who sold it to me said it was used for a glide plane. To me, it looks like a setup for a hang glider or kayak. If anyone recalls seeing this yellow '81 in Ridgecrest between 1981 and 2010, I'd really be curious to hear the story. And a picture is always worth a thousand words.

Or any idea who was "Gentle Giant?

Or who may have sold, or bought it at "Siler's Motor Center in Ridgecrest?

It has a 351w with full California emissions including that wonderful VVT carb. Getting that carb unstuck was a pain in the ass. Before you say it: I have a junkyard Carb/Dizzy/Ignition box to get rid of the VVT/emissions. But it became a lockdown challenge during 2020 to try and make it run the way it came from the factory. Amazingly, it runs pretty well.
The Ford 3sp+OD manual transmission makes it interesting. "2006" is written in sharpie on the back of the firewall. I don't know if the engine was replaced or rebuilt during 2006 or if a previous owner just had a thing for 2006.

This summer is about getting the interior cleaned up. And finding the missing pieces.

My plan is to keep putting it back together and put miles on it. It's scratched and dinged and scares the neighbor kids. So it's a perfect daily driver. It's life in the desert heat kept rust to a minimum, but roached the crap out of anything plastic or rubber. One hose at a time. One junkyard scavenge. Still on the hunt for the underhood light and a bug deflector (with six brackets) among other things. Still a ways to go.