Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

So Chancho has been running top-notch for the past few weeks and I couldn't be happier! I took him on his first real back country adventure since I did a ton of work to him and he crushed it. This was a relief, considering I'm a beginner mechanic and have very little faith in my work!

Here's Chancho crossing a creek about 3 hours into the 4 hour drive.

Anyhow, I drove him to dinner tonight and on the way home, I noticed a very slight flucuation in RPMs at about 20mph (2nd gear, I think). I had my foot steady but the RPMS would go up and down maybe 200 or so RPM's (very slightly). It was audible but not big enough to surge or buck or what have you.

Anyhow, what do you think? I've already cleaned at out the IAC, so I'm guessing TPS? Maybe a vacuum tube? Anything else to consider?

EDIT FOR FUTURE SEARCHES:

Other symptoms that I wasn't aware of included very poor low end accelleration, very strange idle flucuation immediately after ignition that tapered out to normal idle after about 1.5 minutes. Also uneven engine response depending on throttle position. I probably had very poor MPG, too, and I'll comment on that if it does improve.

THANKS

Attachments

·
Kitteh Commandaar!
4,198 Posts
That's nothing...wait untill the motor revs all by itself from 1.5k to 5.5k rpms all by itself.........it's....interesting to say the least :toothless

Dunno. If it's not missing, it's hard to say :scratchhe Check vac lins and possibly fuel pressure....could just be the tach is getting old :shrug

KC

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'll check all the vacuum lines again. Engine IS reving, not just a tach issue. :banghead

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Cap, rotor, plugs, wires, coil... And make sure the wires are routed EXACTLY right.