Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just beginning to build my Fseries long travel truck. By the end of the week i want to order the majority of the parts and pickup the steel for my front suspension setup. Its going to be a twin I-beam kingpin setup. This truck WILL be driven on the road. Too start am I better off with coil springs and Bypass shocks, or just coilovers. Eventually of course i plan on running coilovers AND bypass shocks, but to get started i was going to wait to order one or the other. Planning on running 14 or 16" travel shocks. Im more interested in suspension quality over whoops I don't plan on jumping it anytime soon. I know the majority of handling comes from tuning but please let me know what your opinion is.
Also, this is a big block truck so it has some added weight up front.

·
Registered
996 Posts
Well with what you plan you could probably be fine with a good set of lift coils and some good bypass shocks mounted in front of them.Being as the coils are a single rate spring and not dual like a coilover the bypasses would make it more ride sensitive adjustable.Just beef up the upper coil bucket and maybe have a removable crossover tube that goes over the engine and ties the two buckets together would probably do the trick.And dont forget extended radius arms and limit straps.Ive seen this setup work very well and give a guy plenty quality travel for fun play.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3