Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ugh, during the snowstorm we had on Saturday I got pulled over by a cop. It was blowing snow and i decided to turn on my off road lights so i could see better. Cop "apparently" had nothing better to do than pull me over and give me a hard time. I was expecting a warning to turn them off and not use them on the road....nope he gave me a ticket for $181.00!!!!! WTF :banghead
I'm going to try to fight this ticket, i think it's not fair. The only reason that i was out was i was on my way back from the grocery store. I'm a firefighter and we were havinga winter storm so i bought groceries cause a group of us were sleeping at the station so we'd be ready for any emergencies with the storm.
Any one have any pointers how to get out of this? I saw on the ticket the cop wrote it up by saying the lights were mounted on my roll bar. I don't have my lights on a roll bar, they are on a light bar. Big difference, especailly since a differnece in one word can be huge when it comes to legal issues.

Any ideas??

·
Registered
3,150 Posts
Show up to court, when you talk to the judge explain to him about the storm, how the lights helped you see, and that you did not know that you could not use them on road. Don't use hand jestures,keep them behind your back. Speak up so the judge can hear you properly, but not so loud that you appear demanding. DON'T say anything about getting groceries unless he asks why you were on the road.
If all else fails, bring some lube and get ready to take it up the ass.:rofl:

·
search, you #$%@! noob
9,997 Posts
first off, look up the statute he cited you under. it will be on the ticket probably referencing the penal code. you can google it to get it. read it and see what it says.