Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got the heads off my engine and found the obvious culprit. Cylinder #4 is nice a clean while the others have major carbon buildup. Now again I am not an expert but I would think that if the cylinders were firing and running properly that they would be nice and clean, no carbon. You can see in the pics the nice clean piston and the others as well as the valves on the head. So why the hell do I have so much carbon buildup? Obviously I had a head gasket failure on #4 and it is clean because the water/coolant kept it that way. Please help me as I am naturally concerned about the carbon buildup.
Thanks

·
0 to hero in 94563.1 sec
801 Posts
looks more like you were burning valves or #4 wasnt fireing at all and jsut getting a nice cleaning from gas, and i woul dremove that antifreeze from you rcylinder before it leaks down,

·
Registered
3,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
stangmata50l said:
Doesn't look that bad to me at all. how many miles on it?
It only has around 20K on the rebuilt motor.

colinlesser said:
looks more like you were burning valves or #4 wasnt fireing at all and jsut getting a nice cleaning from gas, and i woul dremove that antifreeze from you rcylinder before it leaks down,
Maybe it was not firing because so much coolant was getting in there. Thanks for the heads up on the coolant. I'll get it out right now.

·
Registered
3,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
stangmata50l said:
Even at 20k, IMHO, that carbon buildup is nothing to write home to mom about.
OK. Thanks. Thats what I have been hearing.