Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

Greetings from Oklahoma.

864 views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  BroncMom 
#1 ·
Hello,
Been a lurker for a while and wanted to take the plunge. I've wanted a Bronco since I was a kid and finally made it happen last week. A 1995 white Bronco with a 5-speed manual transmission. Now...I've never been a gearhead, and I'm not exactly what you'd call mechanically inclined, so I'll probably live in the newbie forum. I appreciate all the info I've gotten so far just lurking. You guys are awesome!

Little bit more about me:
I do some amateur blacksmithing and knife making. I'm a firearms instructor and enthusiast. I really enjoy long range/precision shooting. I enjoy wetshaving either with a straight razor or double edge safety razor. Annnnnd if you have a dog I want to pet it.

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome @Sapp! Thats a nice Oj you have. If you are not a gear head now you will be the longer you own the Bronco. lol. You are at the right spot to learn. Now, let's see some pics of your knife forging. I'm a Forged in Fire addict.

#4 ·
Welcome

Very easy to work on a Bronco. In order for the guys to help … make sure you get a code reader. You have a chance that the 1995 is OBD2. You will have a plug in port down by the ash tray .. close to the passenger side. If not you have ODB1 and there is decent code reader on Amazon. I would also get the long cord so you can sit on the drivers seat and read the codes. You can use a jumper wire and count flashes … but this is easier.

Invest in some tools .. just like blacksmithing … you need the right tool for the job. You can always wait until you need a tool and buy it then.

You don't need to be a big gear head … but these Broncos need love .. and paying a gear head 100$ per hour gets expensive. Every time a mechanic opens the hood I expect to pay $350. Even for replacing a starter .. that is only two bolts.. and a few wires.