Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new here. I just bought my first truck. A 90 FSB with a 302. I have a cracked exhaust manifold and have decided to switch to headers. What headers are the best for a decent price. I'm a student so price will be a major factor. Thanks for any advice.
CODY

·
aka: kemicalburns
7,902 Posts
welcome, use the search feature , this topic has come up so much you should have more than enough info to read up on.

late

·
Registered
46 Posts
Here's my .02 cents---I have the same setup, and I'm going with my mechanics advise--JBA shorties. They are not cheap (($360 from racenet.net) but they have perfected their headers from Mustang setups. They match up real nice to the existing Y pipe, and have all the smog tie-in points. JBA claims a 16-20HP gain. Add on Flowmaster or Gibson exaust and you will see a significant power gain, as Fords typically have a very restrictive exaust when stock. I believe the part # for your truck is #1627.

·
USAF Veteran
2,975 Posts
don't tell me you believe those hp increase #s w/o seeing proof of them!

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
for a cheap quick thing Id go with summit shorties.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Okay. Thanks for all the help. Does anyone know anything about the BBk shorty headers? I found a set for $159.95 on summitracing.com. These headers will mount up to a set of side pipes like off of the 70's corvettes. These have glasspacks in them. Does anyone know how loud this setup will be. I want to have the loudest truck in town.
Thanks
CODY

·
OUCH!!
1,044 Posts
broncoguy69 said: