Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
1996 Ford Bronco XL 351W
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I’m new to trucks, but not to old Fords as I was deep into Fox Bodies back on the East coast. After moving to Tucson I needed a truck to go off-road and to the range. I found myself in a 1996 Bronco XL that I snagged for $2900 at the end of 2019. It came with an “interior” but was in rough shape, so that's been ripped out. Came with a rough country 4” lift with mud tires on it, which I dumped for KO2s. I’ve done a bunch of stuff, mainly long overdue maintenance. Overall goals are a fun cruiser that I can take off-road and do a little crawling. Nothing too crazy.

Recently completed:
Rebuilt doors: lock cylinders, all window/door seals,
latches, handles, strikers, reinforcement plates, I have hinges that I need to install
New door speakers and head unit, made a huge difference
Front brakes, new Warn locking Hubs, wheel bearings, etc
Upper/Lower ball joints and steering linkages/tie rods
Gear oil change in front and rear diff, added a nice rear diff cover too
New radiator
Went to change water pump due to small coolant leak, found out the previous owner snapped off
two water pump bolts into the block... by a miracle I got both out clean, replaced timing chain cover and water pump.
And a bunch of other odds and ends. Replacing O2s this weekend.

Next to fix/upgrade:
Rebuild Tailgate, it needs a full internal rebuild and some body work
The bed needs some sanding/grinding down due to surface rust, the previous owner has the thick vinyl flooring in, and
due to the tailgate seals being bad, water came in and sat under the floor and created some surface rust. I'll grind that all down and then coat the bed with a liner, then work on interior.
Going swap in some Bilstein 5100s all around
Front diff is leaking pretty bad... which sucks as the only way I'm aware to fix this is to drop the while TTB out