Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be towing a 1995 Bronco from KY to FL for a friend tomorrow. I've found this has to been done with a tow bar and subsequently I'll have to remove the drive shaft. I'm a 35 y/o female with general home tools available. I need to get this done by myself as no one will be available to help me. Please give me any and all advice! I've never done this before. Thanx!
WH :shrug

·
Registered
748 Posts
You can just unbolt it from the Transfer case and the rear diff with a ratchet with a 12 point socket on the end of it...size of socket I do not recall though.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you! I'll check this board again before I leave tomorrow if anyone else has any further advice. Your help is greatly appreciated!

WH:angel

·
Registered
990 Posts
Gacknar said:
you dont have to remove the rear drive shaft, just put the transfer case in nutrall. Then pull away.

good luck:D
Thats only if its a manual transfercase. There was someone on RRORC that towed there truck with the transfercase in neutral and when they hit a bump or something it poped out of neutral and ruined the tranny.

·
hates EVERYTHING!
11,456 Posts
Mrit has a point, so.... just to be on the safe side, or to give myself piece of mind (you just don't know my luck!) I would remove it going that far of a distance too.
Like Max said use a ratchet with a 12 point, 12mm socket and disconect the drive shaft from the rear end where I have it marked below:

Then remove it from the case as shown below:

Once you've done that keep all the nuts, bolts and such together (shoebox or something) they'll come in handy later..:toothless Put it all in the floorboard of the ride and put it in the wind!:thumbup
Have a safe trip and good luck!:beer

P.S. I hope this turned out the way I was trying for it to..I been drinkin' so bear with me...:toothless

·
Living in Obscurity
1,928 Posts