Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
after 8-9 hours of putting the shorties in my f-ing y pipe is off a few millimeters literally on the driver side i tried heating it, getting my monkey on a stick and moving it that way-(ouch lol:doh0715:) and it just won't fit and i got a leak at the flange and it sounds like ass, can someone help me out here b/c im outta cash and i need a solution b/c its robbing my m.p.g. and sounds horrible, i can't do the bassani even though i'd like to , im new to exhaust work...all help appreciated:beer

·
Registered
447 Posts
Man , I am so sorry but I am clueless. I have the bassani setup. Maybe a local muffler shop could help you out.

·
Practicing Infidel
15,297 Posts
after 8-9 hours of putting the shorties in my f-ing y pipe is off a few millimeters literally on the driver side i tried heating it, getting my monkey on a stick and moving it that way-(ouch lol:doh0715:) and it just won't fit and i got a leak at the flange and it sounds like ass, can someone help me out here b/c im outta cash and i need a solution b/c its robbing my m.p.g. and sounds horrible, i can't do the bassani even though i'd like to , im new to exhaust work...all help appreciated:beer
Yeah I can help ya 5LF

I used to put 360 Y-pipes on 318s a few weekends before I was swapping in a 360 on my Mopars. Saved time to stick on the bigger exhaust, bigger rads, different (pre lean burn) distributors, etc before the engine swap.

The Y-pipe's headpipe centers were a good 1" too wide for a 318 where they line up on the manifold balls/cups.

Drop the Y-pipe, after marking the portion which way it has to bend. Put it on the floor with a 250 lb buddy standing on the other end and you jam the biggest M'F#@&*ing bar down the flared opening you can.

I used to use an old Mopar torsion bar (ain't nuthin' like it:D) you can use the bar available at hardware stores for lifting off sewer lids.