Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here! I just purchased my first Bronco. It's an '88 and I am starting to fix things a little at a time. It is not yet a DD but I am looking for help to fix this small issue.

I have to push very hard on the steering wheel in the 'up' direction to get the engine to turn. I wonder if anyone has any experience with this and where I can start to trouble shoot it.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
9,990 Posts
The upper ignition actuator inside BOTH Tilt and Non-Tilt steering wheels slides in a track and may binding short of lubrication maybe why you need to push up, same goes for wiggling the column shifter to start but in that case it could be the shift linakge is out of sync with the transmission. Haynes Repair Manual. ref.Illus."Point A".

Another indication the upper ignition is ready to break is when you turn the key to RUN/START it's hard to turn, you have to rotate the key all the way over and there is little left to START. When the actuator breaks inside when you turn the key nothing happens like having a dead battery, not even a click and now you either have to jump start off the "starter relay" fender mounted right side or remove the plastic cosmetic collar exposing the ROD which is attached to the actuator at the top and hooks in a slot in the ignition switch lower down on the column. Turn the key to RUN and with a set of pliers drive the ROD downward/forwards and it will start, easier then going under the hood to the starter relay.

In order to replace an actuator you need to tear down the steering wheel to the knuckle in order to get to it. Part only costs $10.00

The steering column itself may need rebuilding from worn out bushings internally over time which is why most of them have that "lift" play.

There's a thread by broncoboy - ignition actuator replacment on an 85 w/tilt so "search" for it, it's a picture step by step How To.