Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright i got the wedges all ground down, now,and we are about to put the axle in the truck so we could tack the wedges. WE have talked about setting the caster so much i thnk we have ourselves a little confused about setting it.

Ok here is what i have to work i have 3 sets of different degreed c-bushings, i have a set of 2 Degree, 4 degree, and 7 degree. I have extended arms as well, with around 6 in, of lift.

i plan on using the 4 degree bushing when done, and i plan on having around 7.5 or 8 degree's of caster.

We have a magnetic angle finder so that takes out the guess work. If i read right we need to put the angle finder on the lower kingpin cap.??

Here is what we are thinkin, if lets say we put the 4 degree c-bushing in there, and then rotate the pinion up 3.5 degrees and tack it there that should give us the 7.5 degrees of caster that we are looking for correct???When the truck is at ride height of course.

Any help asap would be great i guess we will think about it some more and start with making the steering untill we clarify this. thanks kevin

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok i think we got it figured out. if we want the axle itself with to have 4 degrees of caster in the end, and the truck to have a total of 8 degrees, we would put the 4 degree wedges in there, then rotate the axle with weight and springs on it to 8 degress caster and then with the 4 degree bushings it will give us 4 on the axle and 4 on the bushing, t total 8 is this corect?

·
Registered
316 Posts
Be carefull....

No matter what you do when "mocking" up if you put in 2* or 4* bushings once you put the angle finder on the bottom of the king pin (by the way I suggest removing the grease zerk fitting) if you set the angle finder on 4* then you will have 4* with the wedges you used in the mock up - full stop -