Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, when I turn my steering wheel, I am getting a whining noise from under the hood. I took it to my mechanic who is a good friend and I trust him implicitly, and he said that that was fine and it makes that sound normally. I know that there are bearings in the steering column, but it definitly sounds like it is coming from under the hood. She doesn't pull to the left or right, but there is a tiny bit of play in the wheel, which I assume is also normal. Any of you guys have this problem or is something wrong? Thanks!

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am kind of new to Bronco tech, but not to car tech. Do all Broncos have the C2 steering pumps? I have a 1995 XLT, so I don't know if that is normal for my truck. I also heard in another thread that you should put automatic transmission fluid in the steering fluid reservoir of the C2 to get rid of the noise. Is this true?

·
Registered
328 Posts
ATF wont get rid of the wine. In fact, Ford wants you to use ATF in their PS pumps. Like stonepaw said, most C2 pumps wine. They were designed for lighter weight cars, not really for heavier trucks with bigger tires.

A pretty simple way to fix it is to swap out the power steering setup from a Ford Econoline van. There is a lot of info on this site and on the web about this swap. Try searching "Bronco saginaw power steering pump swap". I recently did the swap, and it cost about $130. Let me know if you have trouble finding info on it. I can send over what info you will need.

·
Roller rockers are gay
19,191 Posts
does it have fluid in it?

·
Registered
1,725 Posts