Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We took a little road trip for christmas this year to visit the outlaws. Drove the 96 Bronco from So Cal to North Dakota (1700 miles one way) I have very little experience driving in snow and ice, (only a few times in our local California mountains) most of my 4 wheeling is in the dezert and Baja.

We hit a snow storm near Idaho Falls so I dropped my speed down from 70 mph to about 50mph, cars were still passing me like I was standing still. I started to see vehicles slipping and sliding and a few were off in the ditch in the center divider so I slowed down to about 30 mph. The ass end started to come around on me so I let off the gas and corrected it back the other way and it straightend out.

I pulled over and locked my front hubs and put it in 4 hi. When I took off I instantly thought something was wrong. The steering wheel was pulling hard left and to keep it straight I was turning hard right. I got a vibration and noise from the left front. I got off on the next off ramp of I-15 to make sure the hubs were locked and they were. Instead of sliding all over the road I just fought the wheel in 4x for the next 45 miles until we stopped in Idaho Falls for the night.

Of course it snowed all night and when we left heading towards Montana at 9:00 am the roads weren't clear yet....anyways long story longer we went for it and drove about 100 miles in 4 hi with the same problems with the front in 4x4.

What could be wrong ? or is that the way it should drive in 4x4 on the highway ?

·
Kitteh Commandaar!
4,191 Posts
Well, what your saying sounds pretty normal to me, usually you don have to fight it very hard UNLESS the road is sloped and 4 tires are all turning faster than your going (sliping). Usually the way the road is sloped, thats the way you start to slide (pulling feeling).