Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Stuck like a MoFo
3,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am having a hard time in deciding what i want to do. I am planning on another heart for my truck. As of right now the truck is a trail/winter vehicle. I was thinking a MAF inline or i have a 351w on a stand.

With the inline, i need to find one, rebuild it, some slight mods, then swap a harness and puter.

With the stroker, i just need the kit, rebuild it, frame towers and rad.

I am guessing right around the same amount of cash for both.

how do you like your strokers?
I am guessing they run great, how many miles and any probs?

Well since i am new in the stroker area, I am assuming i need to buy the kit first so i know which compoents require which dimension when taking to the machine shop, IE bore size, crank jorunal size. Or do they all use a common kit

·
Registered
621 Posts
i'd go with the stroker, more displacement more power. the bore size is up to you, with what size pistons you want to go with, usually .030 sometimes .020 or .040 over. the stroker comes from the crank and rods, i.e more stroke-stroker motor. as long as it's built correct it should last a while.

·
Ex Navy Nuke
5,421 Posts
393 is probably the most economical stroker out there. 351W block and rods, 393 stroker crank and 302 pistons. Do NOT buy pistons until you take the block to the machine shop. Let him tell you how far it needs to be bored over, don't assume you will need .030" or .020". Then they will want you to get the pistons so they can have them in hand when they do the cylinder boring.

·
Registered
621 Posts
yeah he's right about buying pistons when i did mine, i knew the block had never been machined so i went .030 over, might not have needed it, but like jermils motor, he needed it bored .040 over, so yeah see what the machine shop says about the block.

·
Sway Is My Fan Club.
11,916 Posts