Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
U jelly of my
3,217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont believe a write up has ever been done on this (atleast i havent found any) if their is, I'm still a noob:rofl:

Anyways, Today I installed my new alpine 9886 headunit, here's the steps i took...

*All thumbnails are clickable, click them!*

First off, you will need the radio removal tools, which look lilke this

Next, say goodbye to your old POS "radio"

Take the radio removal tools out of the bag, and slide them into the holes in the radio until you hear a click.

Now while pushing the two tools outwards (away from each other) pull out towards you. pushing the left tool left and the right tool right disengages the lock that holds the radio in place. It SHOULD slide right out.

But, if your truck is anything like mine, and refuses to surrender any of its parts or comply in any way, you might have to attack this radio from all sides.

I had to flip my glovebox down, and remove my A/C controls (you shouldnt have to do this but i was really pissed off at this point and just went crazy disassembling my dash)

I pulled on the din removal tools while pushing the back of the radio outwards with my hand, eventually with alot of cursing and fighting, the radio slipped out :toothless

Reason it was stuck? the radio had felt on the top and bottom, that got caught on the dash and started to wedge the radio in, and it wouldn't fit out the hole.

Next order of business, the rear support, which for me was a C band, a plastic piece that slides on the top rail to hold the radio, and a clip that goes to said plastic piece.

Simple assembly. C clamp - clip and plastic piece inside said clip. Fit the rear support onto the top rail and slide it to the back of the dash like so

Next up, the easy and not fun part... Wiring!:tinfoil
This is straight forward, just match up the colors and either tape them or if your really a pro, solder them together.