Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am having a hard time starting my f-350 and I was told to try ether, but I have never used it before so i just need to know where to spray it and how much to use. Just don't want to do something stupid.

·
Administrator
22,843 Posts
what year is the truck?....normally starting fluid is used on carbed models and all you do is spray it into the carb and stand back...

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's a 99 f-350 diesel. I sprayed into the air intake then my battery died so I have to wait for it to charge now. Thanks.

·
Registered
11,108 Posts
WHOA.

Be REAL careful about using ether on a diesel with glow plugs, you'll regret it. One sec and I'll dig up pictures of a truck at work combined with a ****ing moron and ether.

edit: ok nevermind, I couldn't find them...

Basically, I replaced the whole airbox assembly because the kid sprayed ether down the air tube, then got in and turned the key to run... glow plugs came on, and KABOOOOOOOM. Blew fire all the way back out the turbo, no damage luckily, blew the intake tube apart, torched the air filter, and blew the airbox
completely out from under the hood. I mean, like I picked the lid of the airbox up off the ground a good 15 feet away from the front of the truck.

You shoud consider replacing the glowplugs if they're bad, using the block heater, and not using ether. But if you insist on using it, do it with two people, get the engine cranking for a good 5 seconds, and then just shoot a little tiny bit every two or so seconds at the air inlet until she fires up.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #6