Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my story...

First off, i've got a 86 5.0efi. I fill up my tank the other day, drive home, and park overnight. Next morning, rough start. She would start but wouldn't stay running without feathering the gas. Now she won't even run. Starts up fine and dies, even with accelerator to the floor. I can hear it priming when i turn the key. So i check a few things and replace a few things, trying to track down the problem. I've got spark, connections are good, dizzy & rotor are fresh, batteries charged, coil is <6months old so i'm pretty sure it isn't an ignition problem and i narrowed it down to a fuel/exhaust issue. So far, i've changed:

Fuel filter
Fuel pressure regulator
IAC
TPS

I took the throttle body off and cleaned it till it looks and feels new. I'm pretty new to broncos and working on cars in general so i need some help as to where to go from here. I pulled codes this morning and the only code I got was a 22, MAP sensor out of range. I checked connections and they look good so what's the problem? I'm hoping it isn't the in-tank fuel pump because that seems to be a b*tch to replace. maybe the high-pressure pump on the frame? any way to test it?

·
I scrape on both sides
3,035 Posts
just because the connections are good doesnt mean the map isnt fried, also do a check for any vacuum leaks

·
Roller rockers are gay
19,191 Posts
well, i'd say the map sensor is shot.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Clogged injectors. Filled up tank. Lets say bad gas or even some build up got in the fuel lines and got to the injectors. I mean its not likely but hey anything can happen. Or map sensor

·
Registered
133 Posts
Yeah, even with a good vac leak it should still run. Best thing is pull a plug and crank it to make sure you have good spark. And I'm not very knowledgeable on the efi but can you crack a fuel line near the injector to check for fuel?

·