Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1988 Ford Bronco 351w, c6, auto locking hubs, manual transfer case, 3inch lift, 33s
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1988, 351 running on 33s and consistently getting 7mpg. I have searched and searched, but I'm a noob and cant seem to find things I can directly apply to myself. I bought this because a bronco was always my dream vehicle, knowing they didn't have great mpg, I was not expecting 7... it was totaled, so I got it cheap, replaced side panels and hood and whatnot, to make it driveable, then noticed the drinking problem. I did a tune up, got a k&n air filter, removed the cat. And recently replaced the FPR because they are cheap. I don't know the history of the motor and what has been done to it, it's the c6 tranny, which definitely isn't helping. I was doing reading and saw that leaky injectors can be a common issue, and could smell fuel if I got on it. Soooooo doing not quite enough research, I went to summit racing and spent a pretty penny on 24lbs/hr injectors, not realizing that they weren't the stock 19lbs/hr. I have the truck torn apart, should I send them back and get 19? Or should i get a tune with the 24? Which would help mpg most? Nothing seems to be improving the gas mileage.

Anything is appreciated! Thanks

·
Registered
989 Posts
yeah, 7 is pretty bad, Im getting between 7 and 12 in my 86 on 32s, running a carb. 351W that has been rebuilt, but I don't know how mild to wild it was built....it is a dog though.

I would start with checking everything on the motor, compression, cylinder leak down, vacuum leaks, check timing, plug gaps, exhaust leaks. if the motor is stock, I would stick with stock size injectors.

check for drag in the driveline, all u-joints, trans and t-case, rear diff. make sure brakes aren't dragging. check front hubs after a drive, make sure they are not hot. make sure the front driveshaft isn't spinning while in 2WD.

·
Registered