Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My intake manifold was leaking so it was time for a new gasket. Easy job? NOOOOOO. So first of all whats with the t40 honestly they couldnt have cast it a little differently so you dont need a special 6" long one? Anyway I got the tool pulled the intake easy no problem. Now for the lower intake should be easy. Nope. 3 bolts broke 3 bolts wtf? So time to break out the drill yup I snapped off the bit in the one bolt thats where the fml set in. So now I have no idea what to do I am at a loss anyone have any good suggestions. Drilling a drill bit out sounds borderline impossible but hey I dont do this for a living so info would be great. Also I missed one connector at the back of the engine and broke a sensor I think its the knock but if you guys could confirm that itd be great. I am not starting off so well with this bronco. :whiteflag

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
Unfortunately the snapped off bolts are common. The worst thing you can do is try to remove the broken bolts yourself with some fine chinese hardware. You will just break bits, get shavings everywhere, and frustrate the crud out of yourself.

The fix here is heat. The most common method is to weld nuts to the part of the stud sticking out of the hole....If you were lucky enough to be left with enough to weld to. If you do not have access to a welder or the right equipment, have it towed to a shop so they can weld nuts onto the broken bolt. Or remove the heads and take them to a machine shop.

Probably, your cheapest way out is to replace the heads with a good used or reman set or some GT40's. I see GT40 irons on craigslist for $2-400 all the time.

Whatever the fix, replace the bolts with studs in the 4 corners of the lower intake when you reassemble. Also be sure to antisieze all of the bolts & studs!

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #3