Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so where have yall done your swaps? driveway, garage, shop with lift, shed?

i'm looking at using a garage on my grandmother's bird preserve/farm. so the garage is a two car with a 7 foot door(too short to put the truck in). it has one electrical outlet that power the garage door. and one light. behind it there are two covered, dirt floor, open wall bays. i can dig out the floor with the tiny tractor to get in and out of the thing. my concern is my welder needs 220 and it's a dirt floor where the truck can fit. o yea my apartment doesn't allow my to work on the truck in the garages there which it doesn't fit into anyway.

my only thing left to buy is tires and brakes and all the little things i've forgotten. i've been collecting parts for almost 3 years now and i want to start this thing.

share your experiences. has anyone done a d60 swap with coils on dirt without a welder handy? is putting a separate fuse box in the garage going to raze the vale of the property? (family looking at selling it in a few years)

·
Registered
9,130 Posts
I helped with this one in a driveway once...it was ok I guess :toothless

I've worked on mine under this thing:

However, all our welders are powered by their own generators, so lack of 220 was not an issue for me...

I've done a ton of work in the dirt. Sure concrete is nice, but it's far from essential if you have a nice, wide base for your jack stands. Go to a lumberyard and pick up some (roughly, this will be far from exact) 18"x18"x4" blocks and sit your stands on them. Should cost you like $5 at most.

EDIT: If you "raze" the value of a property, that would be destroying it :toothless The 220 box would raise the value a little, but probably not much...

·
Registered
1996 Bronco 5.8l E40D(soon to be ZF) 4:56 and 35s
502 Posts