Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1991 Ford Bronco 5.8L XLT
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just pulled the engine to replace the oil pan gasket, timing chain cover gasket, water pump gasket, oil pressure sensor, manifold gasket, upper manifold gasket, valve covers gaskets, etc. Basically took the whole thing apart and put back together with new gaskets. Something is misfiring though and I'm not sure what. It's my first time "rebuilding" an engine and would appreciate any help/direction of what to try.

Here's a link to the video: New video by Will Mitchell

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I really appreciate the help!

I am not sure. The yellow mark I made when I removed the distributor is back in the exact same place, but I may have rotated the crankshaft. Would you remove the distributor and rotate the crankshaft 180 degrees and put it back in?

Attachments

·
Man of endless projects
9,096 Posts
pull spark plug 1. rotate crank slowly with finger over hole till you feel pressure. rotate till at 10*. that will ensure your at compression stroke.

pull distributor. stab it in so the rotor is pointing to the post for plug 1 (come caps have 1 to identify). make sure order of plug wires are correct. this ensures fuel injectors fire in sync with spark. you will need a timing light to get timnig perfect but this will get it running if timing is the issue

·
Addicted to Junk
85 Bronco, 309ci I6 w/4bbl, np435, 4" lift, 37" Irok NDs, 4.56 w/ Detroit Locker and tru trac
12,318 Posts