Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new here but own a 89 bronco 302 and currently replacing the ball joints and the lower will not tighten whatsoever just spins
So I’ve tried a jack and it’s not doing much
Tried a pickle fork and a pry bar didn’t work
I don’t own a air gun but will get one if I 100% need to
Does anyone have any tips or tricks
This is my first time doing this

·
Registered
95 Bronco XL 5.0L with E4OD trans and mechanical transfer case. Solo Motorsports stage 2 suspension
2 Posts
There should be a slot on top of the threaded portion of ball joint. Use a flat screwdriver in the slot while turning the nut with box end wrench. Also, take the nut off first if you can and make sure the threads are clean

·
Registered
998 Posts
Procedure on an 80 Bronco is to tighten the lower one first then the upper one. I used a Jack under the knuckle to put some load on the lower one to keep it from spinning.

·
Registered
70 Posts
I’m new here but own a 89 bronco 302 and currently replacing the ball joints and the lower will not tighten whatsoever just spins
So I’ve tried a jack and it’s not doing much
Tried a pickle fork and a pry bar didn’t work
I don’t own a air gun but will get one if I 100% need to
Does anyone have any tips or tricks
This is my first time doing this
If worse comes to worse, get some of the high-shear Lock-tite (620 or 680) that is specifically designed for fixing bearings and pulleys to shafts (don't worry, you can still get it out with a press when it wears out). Sometimes that sort of Lock-tite will give just enough "stick" until you can get the nut tightened down and the friction fit takes over. Just don't use too much.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thank you I was actually able to get it with a bottle jack directly under if I greased the bj first
Appreciate the advice though!

·
Super Moderator
26,669 Posts
Yo Big Bertha 89,
Welcome!