Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had an 88 5.0 mustang that was SD and I bought this adapter kit from a company that just required me to wire in the mass air connector and wiring and switch a few pins on the eec and get a A9L code cpu and I was done. I had mass air. It worked really well and I went on to running 11.30's in the 1/4 mile.

After saying all that, I was just wondering if I could buy the same adapter kit again and do the same thing to my 89' 5.0 bronco. I know that I will need another o2 senser or will I? If that is all I need to do, were is the fuel relay so I can make the changes like I did on my mustang. I remember it being under the drivers seat but I have not got to look for it in the bronco yet.

I know that there are some :drinkbud guys on here that will know what I am talking about and I do really appreciate any help yall can give me, I am new to this bronco stuff and I really like the Ford fuel injection setup.

Thanks again.

·
Stuck like a MoFo
3,450 Posts
IIRC the relay is by the air filter box you can hear it click when you turn the key on....but just incase check with fireguy this is his area of expertise
:deal

·
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
10,874 Posts
Short answer is; No you can't swap to Mass Air like the mustang.

Long answer is; Yes it can be done, but it's 10X more work than the stang.

You would have to cut open the harness, remove all the wire loom and tape. Then re-wire all the injectors from scratch. It's possible, I've done this a number of times, but it involves more junkyard parts, a lot of soldering, and mostly time.

This is the wiring diagram of the 89 truck

This is the wiring diagram of the A9L mustang

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So I guess it would be easier and cheaper to just buy a custom harness like what I have seen on FordFuelInjection.com?