Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had an 88 5.0 mustang that was SD and I bought this adapter kit from a company that just required me to wire in the mass air connector and wiring and switch a few pins on the eec and get a A9L code cpu and I was done. I had mass air. It worked really well and I went on to running 11.30's in the 1/4 mile.

After saying all that, I was just wondering if I could buy the same adapter kit again and do the same thing to my 89' 5.0 bronco. I know that I will need another o2 senser or will I? If that is all I need to do, were is the fuel relay so I can make the changes like I did on my mustang. I remember it being under the drivers seat but I have not got to look for it in the bronco yet.

I know that there are some :drinkbud guys on here that will know what I am talking about and I do really appreciate any help yall can give me, I am new to this bronco stuff and I really like the Ford fuel injection setup.

Thanks again.

·
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
10,858 Posts
Short answer is; No you can't swap to Mass Air like the mustang.

Long answer is; Yes it can be done, but it's 10X more work than the stang.

You would have to cut open the harness, remove all the wire loom and tape. Then re-wire all the injectors from scratch. It's possible, I've done this a number of times, but it involves more junkyard parts, a lot of soldering, and mostly time.

This is the wiring diagram of the 89 truck

This is the wiring diagram of the A9L mustang

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So I guess it would be easier and cheaper to just buy a custom harness like what I have seen on FordFuelInjection.com?

Could you just get a mustang harness and extend and shorten were needed to make it fit on the bronco, or is this another long time procedure that can be costly and troublesome?

Thanks again.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·