Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, yeasterday, I took my Bronco out on the road for the first time. I uncovered a few more problems, which include the following:

-First off, the steering. I noticed that while driving down the road, I could turn the wheel 6-8" to either side, and it wouldn't turn. I'm pretty sure it shouldn't be that mushy. There is WAY too much play in the wheel, and it was kind of scary. My Dad said I could fix it one of two ways. Either get new tie-rod ends, or something like that( I can remember), or I can adjust the steering box? Also, the wheel isn't centered on the shaft, which I know is an easy fix. Input please lol.

-Second, I found that the brakes were awefully soft, and you could hear what sounds like a leak when you push the pedal down. I had to pretty much slam on the pedal before it would start to slow down. It may also be the pads/shoes. I have a brand new master cylinder and booster I can put in it, which may help. Any other thoughts?

-Next, It sounds like I have an exhaust leak somewhere near the engine compartment. It sounds kinda like a tst-tst-tst-tst whenever I put on the gas. Also, another reason I would say its an exhaust leak, is that there was some exhaust fumes possibly leaking in through the ventilation system. Then again, I'm a noob, so I need your opinions on what the cause may be.

Anyways, If I think of any other problems, I'll let you guys know. i had a rough night last night, so my memory isn't the best. Also, junking this truck is NOT an option. I want to either fix it to sell it, or if I can afford it, drive it.

Thanks as always,
Nitro

·
Registered
2,279 Posts