Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did a search!.. didnt find much info...I think my pan gasket is shot...Drove bronco this weekend to hunting club and noticed while unlocking the gate to club there was a small spot of fresh oil under truck.... went wheelin through club searching for new places to put my stand....got home and parked...within an hour a nice puddle has formed under truck...I'm praying its just a pan gasket...truck seems to run great....I tried to get under and look but was getting late... it is really greasy/dirty build up under the motor so today I bought some degreaser and I'm going to begin to try and get the area clean... from what I have read I will have to undo motor mounts and jack the motor up.... is this a task or piece of cake to do.. and should I do anything else while I have the pan off... like the oil pump etc? any help would be apprec. because I have never done this before...

·
Registered
3,753 Posts
It is quite a task. You do need to jack the motor up. That's the easy part. Then you need to clean off the old one and fish the new one in and around the oil pickup unit. Be ready for lots of swearing but it can be done. Leave a good 3-4 hrs to do it if not more.

·
Registered
990 Posts
Its a big PITA, I did it on my bronco II when it had the original engine. I will never use a 4pc gasket again, Im gonna be getting a one piece soon. I need to pull the pan cause the pickup tube/screen is clogged bad.

·
Registered
529 Posts
in doing this can you "Replaee the Pan" also? Without pulling the engine...just by lifting it?

BTW the Mounts are a PITA...especially the front ones...you'll see. I have them off and was going to replace the Pan while doing the Motor Mounts, but not sure If I can get the pan off. Looks like the exhaust from the drivers side might be in the way. Also want to make sure I can clear the crossmember.

Thanks

·
But what does mine say?
954 Posts