Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1978 Bronco Custom W/429
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought this Bronco from my brother may he RIP, in 1981. It was the first vehicle I ever owned. I had it painted about 1983 and it was awesome. I put a 429 in it about 1987. Then my first child was born and by 1991 I put it away for a retirement project. I am about 5 years from retirement but the Corona Virus hit and as a locksmith I got laid off for a month. I called a friend with a garage and a rollback and got started.
original bronco.jpg
20200308_094611.jpg
bronco 3.jpg
bronco 4.jpg
bronco 5.jpg
bronco 6.jpg

·
Registered
1978 Bronco Ranger XLT, 400/C6 92 K documented miles &1994 Bronco,XLT 85K original miles
935 Posts
Welcome! Looking forward to your amazing story!. Following your posts.

·
Super Moderator
24,968 Posts
Yo 4X4X429,
Welcome to FSB!
Your brother would be (is) proud that you kept the 78 in the family.

Here is some info for you that you probably know by now:

1978 Bronco Dealer Brochure via member Indybronco

MANY 78 Parts Break-Out Diagrams by member Indybronco (Lula Mae) @ pictures, videos, and sounds | SuperMotors.net

1978 Bronco Emission Component Location Diagrams via 78brncoxlt

1978 Ford Bronco & Truck Wiring Diagrams by Ford via member Bronc Mom @ Demo78 wiring diagram.pdf

1979 Bronco/F Series Electrical & Vacuum Troubleshooting Manual via member Ziggy; similar to 78.

1979 Wiring Schematics, Connector Pin-outs, etc by member Ranger429 @ 79 wiring schematics
Similar to 78

Bubba's M-Block Ford V8 Workshop by Dave Resch @ Bubba's M-Block Ford V8 Workshop however, you probably don't need it now.

78 351M/400 Engine Exhaust Emission Control Information Decal & Timing by member grovermyson @ Timing - Do I need to do anything ?