Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there...Just bought my first Bronco about two weeks ago. It's a 93 white XLT with a 5.8 in it. Only has 52K original miles on it and so far it's been great. The only thing that I'd like to upgrade is the engine. It runs great but I'm looking for some more power of the bolt on variety. The pickup on the low end is great but after about 55mph the oomph dies out. I'm used to driving sportscars and although I know this is a truck and will never have the power of my cars I'd like a bit more power. I do alot of highway driving and I'd like to be able to cruise a bit more comfortably at speeds of 75-85. Any suggestions as far as headers, exhaust, cylinder heads, intake manifolds, and cams would be great. Best bang for the buck. I'm new to fords(always driven japanese and german cars) and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Are those REAL?!?!
1,702 Posts
Well, let's start off simple... a K&N air filter to start is always a good place... Then, not knowing what your budget is... a set of shorty headers and a more free-flowing exhaust. There are plenty to chose from in the way of mufflers, Flowtech, Flowmaster, Dynaflow are among the more popular choices. Some go for the glasspacks due to clearances and like the sound. Some guys remove the catalytic converters. This may not be an option for you as you may reside in an area that does emissions testing/inspection. Which would entail putting them/it back on once a year.