Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, Im new to the Bronco world since I just bought a '92 FSB. :thumbup

The problems, as with any used vehicle, are many. But thank heavens for this great site! I've already found usefull help from you guys by doing searches. However, heres some questions I was unable to find info on (probably because they're so simple no one bothers to write about it) that I was hoping someone could shed light on:

1. I've changed many brake pads in my life but for some reason, these calipers aren't your everyday calipers....Anyone know where the bolts to remove them are?

2. The engine knocks real bad now as if theres a loose rod in there somewhere. Anyone know this symptoms of having a blown engine? :banghead

ANYINFO ON THESE ISSUES WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

·
Registered
3,755 Posts
Good move on the search first. And Welcome to FSB. The calipers have no bolts. They are held on by two pins. You will see them easily now that you know they are there. You simply take a hammer and flathead screwdriver (or something like it) and tap them through. You will notice they each have a small lip on one side of them. That is to hold them in better. So when you slide them back in, the lip should be facing up on the top and facing down on the bottom. Doesn't hurt to grease them a bit too. Hope that made sense. As far as the engine I am not exactly sure. Knocking is not good. How many miles on it? I am currently doing an engine rebuild in mine. It blew a piston at 140k.

·
Registered
677 Posts