Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am new to the whole truck stuff and have never work on or owned one before. I have been lurking around for a while and trying to find the answers by searching but since I don’t really know all the terminology, I am having a hard time finding the info I need.

I am currently trying to do change all fluids and do some preventive maintenance to the vehicle but I need a little info. I have the Haynes manual for it but I guess I need to know what a few things are before I can get the right type and amounts of fluids I need.

So far for maintenance, I have changed the plugs & wires, cap & rotor, flushed the cooling system, changed the fuel filter. I still need to change the fluid in the tranny, transfer case, and differentials.

These might seem like dumb questions, but I honestly have no clue, so help a newbie, please.

The vehicle is a '91 Bronco XLT with a 351w and E40D tranny.

I would like to know:

1. What transfer case do I have or how do I Identify it?

2. What rear axle do I have or how do I identify it?

3. What front axle do I have or how do I identify it?

4. Does anyone know the measurements of the stock transmission cooler?

5. Is there anything else maintenance wise, that I should change/check while I am at it?

Thanks in advance.
:beer

·
Zombie Hunter
13,696 Posts
RancorX said:

I would like to know:

5. Is there anything else maintenance wise, that I should change/check while I am at it?

Thanks in advance.
There is a sticker on your door that will tell you all of this. Driver's side.

If i were a gambling man i would say there is a BW1356 mated to the E4OD. For some reason i am having brain block when it comes to the axles.

I would change the differential fluids, and i would definitely flush the transmission more than once if the previous owner wasn't very good at maintenance.