Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings from a lurker.

I have an 80 F150 I am converting to EEC-IV. Then, once it is running the cab/drivetrain will go on the '96 Bronco sitting out back with the stuck engine. After 5 months of put this here solder that, I got to hook up the battery today and crank it over.
i don't have power on the in tank or the inline fuel pumps. I've gone through the connections and everything checks out (I am pretty sure...) EEC seems to be holding them out.

MY question - the check engine light is a LED with ballist resistor. Could this be not what the EEC is looking for and holding out the fuel pumps or ? ( I have noted several references to "...you gotta have the check engine light hooked up...)

I have been meticulous with the grounding and connections and documented and doubled checked ever step. I am a master electrician and do industrial controls for a living. it shouldn't be this tough...

Any help on this would be appreciated.

Kevin Taylor
In the middle of Nebraska

OK I did a stupid, I didn't reset the inertia sensor, but I still don't have power to the pumps. I guess in the morning it will be trace it out, again.

KT

B

·
0 Posts
Jeez, Good luck!
I believe there is a way to test the fuel pumps at the eek4 self test plugz. Perhaps you've tried that? Hopefully Ryan, fireguy50 can chime in here. I don't have your expertise nor his.

·
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
10,874 Posts
check engine light is no big deal, it will run without it. If it could run ;)
Only reason to have a check engine light is so you can check engine codes. Have you checked for codes yet?
Important questions:
what computer are you using?
What harness are you using? junkyard wiring?
What wiring diagram did you use?

You are using a fuel pump relay right?
Do the fuel pumps prime before you crank?

Here is my EFI wiring harness web page:
http://fordfuelinjection.com/harness.html