Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought this machine a few days ago. It has a small oil leak. It sat for a few years. When I first started it, it had low oil pressure. I added oil and left the barn I found it in. When I was about 10 miles away the gauge went all the way low. I kept trucking. Made it home. Just started tinkering with it today. Started it again and the oil pressue was in the normal range. Took a trip around the farm and it went low again. I'm not a mechanic. Maybe should not have bought a toy but I'm sticking with it. What do ya think. The thermostat gauge is not working either. I do know that It is pumping water. Looks like the sensor is not there anymore. I think i found the oil sensor behind the carb and it looks like the wire is intact.

·
Premium Member
23,563 Posts
you probably have 8 valve cover bolts.

and I bet thats a 351M

and I bet the rods and main bearings are worn

and I bed thats where your loosing oil pressure

and I bet 20w50 might help it a little unless the previous owner put that in there already.

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
Put a real gauge in. I had a factory gauge on a 300-6 that read fine until the engine warmed up- then it would plummet. Real gauge showed I had good pressure all across.

It was the factory sender going bad once IT warmed up.

Probably don't even have to buy the gauge right off, i can practically guarantee you have a buddy with one hanging around that he'd let you put in your block for a 15 minute test.

·
MARBLE GARGLER!
11,877 Posts