Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone I just got my ford bronco is a 1988 bronco xlt it has a v8 302 in it. The timing was moved forward when I got it and it has decent power but when i move the timing to where it should be i have to floor it just to get to 15mph any ideas weberi should start with this issue?

·
Registered
4 Posts
hey...before changing out spark and fuel components randomly,pull your codes. check babalouey thread in newbie zone for howto.....also what caused you to move timing? and what was your procedure?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Tooblueeyes i didn't move the timing forward the previous owner did thati have been trying to research it for awhile sincei know it could be multiple things

·
Registered
4 Posts
my bad,you did say it straight away...anywho i am a newbie (3 years since i bought my 88 bronco) i joined this Forum when i had my first of many issues... didnt know jack about engines, repair etc...,im 55..point is i refer to the Baba Looey's Favorite FSB Links...in the newbie tech flame free zone (lots and lots of tech links... every time it guides me thoroughly and i learn by doing and now nothing is intimidating to me at all. start there post your results and question...take the time, its worth it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
got the timing right or as close as i can but still feels like it doesnt have the power a v8 should have but i have never owned a v8 so im not sure. i think my ignition module is bad i know it can cause the egine to shut down since that has happened twice now could it also cause a power issue?

·
Registered
129 Posts
Pull codes to start with but several things can cause what you are seeing. One could just be a worn out motor, have you done a compression check on it?
Pull codes, get a vacuum gauge on it, should have ~ 17 at idle. Then get a a fuel pressure gauge on the fuel rail.