Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read that codes should be pulled from a warmed up system but what if you are dealing with a no start? What codes, if any, will be consider false faults? thanks guys my 95 EB FSB 5.8 did not start when I got it, brought it to my shop and it did fire up and drive but when I parked it back in my shop its a no start again. I'm just doing a little homework before I dig into it tomorrow. . . . . this should be fun, I have no knowledge whatsoever of its history got it at an auction lol

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,774 Posts
It will still give codes(if you have any)when cold.
Some of the systems do need to be at operating temps but not all, fuel pump codes are an example

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks, I pulled some codes after I got it running and am still researching them on the board here. was just wondering if a cold engine would give some false codes because its not up to temp. I also noticed some emissions eqpt is missing, egr and some canister stuff maybe air pump stuff. I'll hafta sort some of that out to, I'm sure that will throw some codes as well. When it started it ran well, went down the road and back no prob. came back and no start again glad I parked it where I wanted it lol.

could pulling emission equiptment improperly give a intermittent no start condition?

·
Premium Member
5,774 Posts
The computer knows if the engine is warmed up or not, unless the coolant sensor is bad or unplugged.
The first thing I would do is replace all that emission stuff that is missing. Not only could the missing parts cause driveability issues it will drive your computer crazy and throw all sorts of codes.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Usually you will simply get codes for coolant temp below expected values, that sort of thing.

If you can get it to start, try running a KOER test, as that can give additional information.