Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not much of a body guy my brother is a welder by trade. Just wondering how many people have done quarter panel replacement and how bad of a job was it to remove and replace the panel I've done some researxh on it already it doesn't look terribly easy but I think we can do it! Any words of caution or wisdom befor I dive in head first? Any suggestions on good panels to use or any place to source the panels from im not looking for oem just because that's not in the budget

·
Registered
3,428 Posts
I have one off right now on my project truck

I bought a replacement from NPD,$190, I searched for a nos ford one but came up empty
I would get one if I could find one

make sure you open the new one where ever you get it from before you leave
I opened 3 quarters to find one that wasn't bent on wheel lip

seems a decent fit

there is a crap load of spot welds to drill out
I cut the new quarter top on horizontal surface just after it folds over the top, I left the original top mating surface intact
and on the b post,i left about 1'' of metal and flanged it so the new quarter will sit flush and I should be able to metal finish the seam just below the factory seam
to install at the seam would be a huge job

there is a support piece spot welded into the tail light housing also,i drilled it out and left it attached to the box corner

where quarter fits at lower b post, check carefully, there is a gap in there, that is a body drain,if you plug it up, moisture will be trapped and rust out rear portion of rocker panel/lower b post

while you are there, good time to address the striker area of the b post, clean it up and seal the seams to prevent moisture from getting in there,the seams are the wrong way and let condensation into the seam

I have yet to weld it back on

·
Registered
525 Posts