Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this so forgive me if i say something put of place. I found a good and reliable guy that prides his work and need advice. My block and heads are going to the machine shop and i want them to be honed or bored out for a smooth true surface for the cylinders. Will it be worth it to upgrade my intake for more air flow? I dont want to go crazy with more HP or TQ, just a little above stock. Its a speed density 351w efi. Whats the benefit of having the engine bored or honed besides being true again.

·
Man of endless projects
9,750 Posts
get a price on the heads first, it MIGHT be worth going with different heads. GT40 or aftermarket. hate to see +700$ go into stock heads when you can get more for that money. if its around 300ish then its more worthy if you arnt looking for much more power. aluminum will always be more expensive but you can sometimes find GT40 heads for a good price and at least gain some power while staying OE heads

if you do a rebuild on a block with any substantial milage, you pretty much want to have the block bored if you want the engine to be proper. it wont gain almost any power, boring only add a handfull more cubic inches, but it will ensure you will retain power and not loose it from rings not sealing correctly due to egg shaped uneven loose bores.

a new intake will add some power, the stock 351w intake is trash. but the only direct replacement intake is $900 and throttle bodies are $400. so unless you plan on making decent power or going Mustang style aftermarekt intake, i jsut stay stock.