Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so ive been working on fixing my cooling system for a couple months.. all thats left now, is my cap problem..

when the engine hits 4000 rpm or above, the rad cap starts spewing coolant.. and it's not like tons of coolant, but enough to be worried about..

i've replaced Rad cap, top rad hose, thermostat, heater core, and PO put in a new pump right before i got it(november 2014)..

and no, none of the parts are el cheapos...

thanks for the help

·
Registered
796 Posts
Bent neck on the radiator? Dirt or gunk where the radiator cap seats?

·
Roller rockers are gay
19,197 Posts
Warranty the cap.

·
Registered
9,834 Posts
nope. neck is straight and the sealing area is clean.. i flushed entire cooling sytem 3 times so far. still some crap in fluid, but 100 times better than it was.
Maybe you should get one of those kits to test for combustion gasses in the coolant.

·
Registered
9,834 Posts
??? not familiar with that.. where can i get it?? and how much does it cost??
I don't know, Ive only heard of it. supposedly parts stores have it. Does it do it if you let it idle? Blowing out the cap when you hit a certain RPM sounds like a possible head gasket leak.

Oh wait, then it would puke out the overflow. Nevermind, get a new cap. Just tell them its leaking or something. Personally though next time I buy a cap I'm getting a Motorcraft since they're cheap from rockauto.

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I don't know, Ive only heard of it. supposedly parts stores have it. Does it do it if you let it idle? Blowing out the cap when you hit a certain RPM sounds like a possible head gasket leak.

Oh wait, then it would puke out the overflow. Nevermind, get a new cap. Just tell them its leaking or something. Personally though next time I buy a cap I'm getting a Motorcraft since they're cheap from rockauto.