Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to owning a 4wd, what are the purpose of radius arms to strengthen the suspension? And if I change the bushings or mounts, will it throw my alignment off? My drivers side is clunking when I hit a left hand turn/bump at the same time. I dont remember seeing these on any of the sports cars Ive owned in the past.

·
Registered
4,684 Posts
Radius arms position the front axle. If they weren't there, there'd be nothing to stop the front axle from moving forwards and backwards under the truck, changing your wheelbase (and breaking stuff).

Yes, changing the bushings can affect your alignment. The bushings are important to steering stability as well.

·
Registered
873 Posts
They don't merely strengthen, your radius arms are what locate your wheel longitudinally (front to back). Your Bronco's Twin Traction Beam front suspension system is just different from most modern car's.

If you replace your radius arm bushings it may affect your alignment to a small degree, but I don't know if it'd require an alignment.

·
Registered
821 Posts
Hey guys I need to replace my bushings also, How do I find out what size I need?? I have a 4" lift but I dont know if the arms are stock or not... Or are they pretty much universal??

·
crank trigger
8,150 Posts
Hey guys I need to replace my bushings also, How do I find out what size I need?? I have a 4" lift but I dont know if the arms are stock or not... Or are they pretty much universal??
your RA bushings? get the ones for your truck. lift shouldn't make a diff unless you got new RAs to replace your stock ones.

·
green ones make me horny
11,135 Posts
even the extended radius arms use the stock bushing.

·
Registered
95 Posts
is that a home mechanic job, can you simply undo the bolt & say pull one side of the axle forward to get it out of the hole & then replace the bushings & then put it back, or do you need a hoist..