Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heres the story. On the weekend the rear brake line blew in the bko, nows its a 1995 with 105 000 miles on it and the MC was replaced new at ford 2 years ago worked great always a solid pedal. I replaced all the lines from the hyrdobooster back to the rear axel and both lines over the axel, including the rubber line splitter. Drums were rebuild new less than a year ago, but i had to replace a piston in the left rear as the bleeder was seized. The drums in the back need still to be adjusted with a couple of hard stops in reverse. But after 3-4 times bleeding the brakes i find the pedal still soft. Now im no brake expert, but i need another opinion on what to do maybe some direction.
Thanks for all your help
Jay:beer

·
Lick my balls
13,023 Posts
Try adjusting the brakes with the drums off so they are just touching the drums. Don't rely on reverse braking to adjust your brakes

·
Registered
303 Posts
try gravity bleeding i had the same problem and a friend of mine came over he's an exmacanic thats what we did solved my problem.. just do the farthest 1 first and keep resavor full... i went threw 2 quarts when i did it....

·
Driving Stuff Henry Built
-90 xlt, 351w, e4od, man 1356, 3.55, sag, warn hubs, 35s. -73, 400, np435, d20j twin, 35s
8,180 Posts
I'm with Waltman, adjust the drum brakes close by hand & let the auto adjusters finish them up. BTW, it doesn't need to be a hard stop in reverse, just normal braking in reverse. Each reverse stop moves the adjuster very little until they're right, so it takes a lot of stops if you don't get them close by hand. If the rears aren't adjusted it will cause a low pedal.

My 90 only has rear ABS & has a 5th bleeder on the RABS valve that needs to be bled after the rears. Your 95 should have 4 wheel ABS, does the 4 wheel system have any other bleeders?