Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at doing a tech write up so don't be too hard on me. OK now that that is out of the way the first thing I did was set the truck on jack stands and remove the rear bumper and gas tank and trailer hitch. There's already a tech write up on the gas tank so I'm not going to post any pics of that.

The next thing I did was support the rear axle so that I could take off the U bolts for the leaf spring.

Then I took off the U bolts and let down the floor jack so that there was no tension on the leaf springs

Next I took off the two bolts on the front bracket

Then following some advice that someone had suggested on another thread I cut a slot in the middle of the rivet, this helped A LOT, I could not get to one of the rivets with the cut off tool and it took 5x longer than the ones with the reliefs cut in them

Here is the rivet head cut off

Here are the heads I used for the air chisel

Make sure you wear your glasses and ear plugs because there is tons of rust that's going to fly.

Here's a pic of the rivets punched out

Then I removed the leaf spring and front bracket. This sums up how I felt about it

Here's the rusty pos rear shackle

More relief cuts in the rear shackle rivets

All the rivet heads cut off

Here's how bad the rear shackle was rusted, I was probably one good bump away from the leaf spring crashing into the body

Here's the new leaf spring and shackles, these are the 1700lb springs from JBG

The new one looks a little better than the old one

Old shock and new bilstein

Before I cleaned up for the night I supported the axle on some wood blocks so it wasn't hanging