Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1988 bronco with a 351w and I want to change it over to a roller motor. I have recently scavenged all the necessary parts from a 97 mountaineer (liters, dog bones, spine, spider thingy). As I studied a little more I realized that in addition to needing to drill and tap the valley, the litter bores are too short and require a reduced radius cam. I have a couple questions...
1. Is converting it to roller cam really worth it? I am changing over to maf, gt-40 heads, headers and a bigger cam to bump torque...roller will let me run a more aggressive cam but will it really free any HP?

2. Are there issues with the reduced radius cams? Are there severely restricted cam choices when using one of these? I got all my parts (lifters ,dog bones, and spine) for free, so if I could just get a cam and pushrods, that would ease my budget.

3. haven't opened my block yet, but was wondering if bosses will be present and just need to b drilled and tapped, or will I be just drilling into normal valley material? I do have an 89 302 open and noted it has bosses that are drilled and tapped...???

Bratcop

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Did I fuss someone on here or what? Second post with enough views but no posts...can I get a bump?

·
I did all for the Nookie
7,270 Posts
You are not going to have any luck doing it that way the lifter bores for a flat tappet 351w are not tall enough for proper oiling you will need a roller cam conversion kit.

·
I did all for the Nookie
7,270 Posts