Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a '95 Bronco XLT 5.8L with 162,000 mi, when the engine is first started it runs fine, starts right up. At the point when it goes into a lower idle, the engine starts acting like it is going to die,when driving at this point the vehicle loses power and seems to cut out. Once it is warmed up everything seems fine. My local dealer serviced it and could find nothing wrong, they did change a speed sensor because it gave some error code.

I have personally changed the following: Plugs, rotor, cap, MAP sensor, TPS sensor, Oxygen Sensor, fuel filter. I am by no means a mechanic, but am pretty competent with many repairs.

If anyone has any tips to this problem it would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
9,995 Posts
My 86 has the ability to pull CODES with the two OEM plugs over on the passenger side fender well, you need to buy or borrow a code reader that just plugs in and with the book, pull codes to see what's going on. Do a " search" here up at the top and you'll find a ton of ideas.

Good Luck

:enforce :enforce :enforce :enforce :enforce :enforce :enforce :enforce

Fix or shoot it I say!

·
Registered
38 Posts
well i have the same problem, i have a 94 with the 351, and drove mine from out east to iowa with no problems, and it just started doing this about a month ago, i was hoping it was my 02 sensor, because i have done everything as u did, cleaned throttle body and IAC also, when it is warm after 5 minutes runs great starts right up, goes to 7 800 rpms for about 10 seconds then starts to stumble for about 3 minutes will die if i dont play with the gas pedal, so i just wait the 3 minutes and runs fine, if i finally find the problem will let u know, i also have about 163k on mine,

·
CheeseBurger Milkshake!!
3,760 Posts