Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys hopefully someone can help. Im a rather expirenced ford mechanic but with everything going on latly here at home i cant think strait. I have a 1988 F150 4x4 with a 351w and a C6 tranny. My truck has duel 18 gallon tanks. I filled up a few days ago and I got about 260 miles or so from one tank (you know turning 3,000 RPM's doing 70mph on the highway doesnt help). Anywho on monday I filled up again and made a round trip to Michigan and back. I notice on my way up there the needle falling faster then uasual. When i got home I had gone about 130 miles and the tank was nearly on E. I have no need to check the cat's cause the truck is running duel 2 1/2 inch stainless pipes with stainless flowmaster 40 mufflers. Exhaust is nearly new. The olny thing I can figure is my fuel filter is partially blocked, or dirty ass fuel injectors. I noticed now when I come off a stop sign and I hit it she is kind of slugish at first. Bogs then goes. Im going to pick up stuff for a tune up this weekend. Im wondering if its time to change the tranny filter as well???. I dont think its the tranny sliping as much as it is the truck bogging for a bit once i hit the gas hard. Other then that and the worn out steering box (go figure) the truck runs great and is reliable. I just want the better gas mileable back. Any ideas guys???? hope someone can help

·
Registered
11,108 Posts
Is the motor carb'd?

Do you have anything hanging up on your driveline? Brakes, u joints, bearings?

You should ditch the duals, a single 3" will outperform dual 2 1/2's.

·
aka: kemicalburns
7,874 Posts
if the truck is efi, where did the o2 sensor get placed? was an H pipe installed as well. have you pulled codes?

you might consider installing some 33's on there to help the rpms or start driving at 65 or less

·
Premium Member
5,103 Posts
:stupid (all of them!)...