Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im stuck between the taylor spiro pro and the ford racing. MSD is a little too expensive. And what is the different between 8mm and 9mm and which is better? i jus replaced my plugs and i did search before i posted.

·
Premium Member
9,990 Posts
I've been using 9mm FMSR wires for many years and like the way they hold up, look and last time I checked, Jegs sold them for $47.00 plus....at a google glance states 9mm wire circumference is larger, maybe more heat resistant but not sure about "boost"....

Also running MSD cap, rotor and 48K coil, the set of wires on now are from 2008 when I swapped in a new 302 EFI long block, still going strong.....

There's lots of excellent brands out there, I'm a Ford guy so...

Good Luck ~ :thumbup

·
I scrape on both sides
3,035 Posts
you could get the streetfires from oriellys. cost me under 50 but had to cut and boot myself.

·
Registered
616 Posts
I too would like to know the difference between the 8mm and 9mm? Aside from the obvious....size

·
Registered
130 Posts
its just that (size). bigger wire less resistance, more spark, less heat due to less resistance, if your gonna pop for a fancy coil then yea get the bigger wires

·
Registered
7,922 Posts
its just that (size). bigger wire less resistance, more spark, less heat due to less resistance, if your gonna pop for a fancy coil then yea get the bigger wires
:stupid

Same reason why we upgrade our alt charge cables and battery wires to a larger gauge....less resistance.

·
Premium Member
3,944 Posts
are the ford wires solid wire core? is that the ones to do 6liter tune up.

·
Former owner of Shadofax
17,026 Posts
are the ford wires solid wire core? is that the ones to do 6liter tune up.
They aren't solid core as I recall. Just a regular suppression type plug wire that is good quality. I've been very happy with my Ford racing wires.

·
Registered
616 Posts